normal sphingomylein topology

• mandar
  • mandar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
More
5 years 7 months ago #7794 by mandar
sphingomylein topology was created by mandar
Hello,

I am new to the CG simulations of lipid bilayers and I have finished tutorial recently. I am planning to perform CG simulation of sphingomylein. However, I am confused which topology matches with sphingomylein molecule.

I think DPSM is closest to SM molecule.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

It will be really helpful if experts could comment and guide me in correct direction.

Thanks,
Mandar Kulkarni

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 7 months ago #7805 by bart
Replied by bart on topic sphingomylein topology
Sphingomyelin is not a single molecule, but a lipid class. Therefore using the right model comes down to which sphingomyelin you want to use. It is specified for each item in the lipid list which atomistic lipids they could/should represent. Keep in mind however, that the coarse grain lipid actually is an average of all the atomistic models it represents, with no tweaking of bond lengths towards a specific atomistic mapping.

• mandar
  • Fresh Boarder
More
5 years 7 months ago #7806 by mandar
Replied by mandar on topic sphingomylein topology
Dear Bart,
Thanks for the previous explaination. I have used DPSM topology as we are working on N- palmitoyl-D-erythro-sphingosyl phosphorylcholine (d 18:1/16:0).

In case of DPSM, there are 2 topolgoies present and I found the following difference in the results of lipid bilayer thickness compared to experimental values.

1. Experimental thickness: 4.37 +/- 0.69 nm
2. New topology ( martini_v2.0_DPSM_01.itp): 3.95 +/- 0.05 nm
3. Old PPCS topology ( martini_v2.0_PPCS.itp): 4.16 +/- 0.06 nm

Please, if possible, I would like to request your opinion regarding my following assumptions: