normal Coronene MARTINI parametrization

• Bernabei
  • Bernabei's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
9 years 4 months ago #4216 by Bernabei
Coronene MARTINI parametrization was created by Bernabei
Hello everybody!

My name is Marco from the university Autonoma in Madrid.
I am quite new with MARTINI and I am trying to parametrize the coronene molecule (ak superbenzene)
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coronene
I cannot find a way to combine the Martini's CG bead in such a way to preserve the symmetry of the molecule.
Once obtained the parametrization we would like to test the solubility in heptane and toluene.
I hope you can help me, although I have the feeling that in order to simulate coronene-like molecule we should use something like OPSL-AA(UA) or similar.

All the best!
Marco

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 months ago #4219 by mnmelo
Replied by mnmelo on topic Coronene MARTINI parametrization
Hi Marco,

I thought about your superbenzene and came up with a mapping that preserves all its 6 symmetry axis (if I counted correctly).

Please appreciate below a piece of ASCII art representing coronene. I suggest a 2-to-1 mapping (just like regular benzene), where the atoms involved are those over the bonds I mark in red. I'd recommend using the SC5 bead typed defined in martini 2.2.

The center of the molecule gets maybe a bit low bead density, but not enough for other molecules to tunnel through.

To keep such a thing planar consider using virtual sites based on a triangular constraint frame.

Let me know how it goes,
Manuel

_
_/ \_
/ \_/ \
\_/ \_/
/ \_/ \
\_/ \_/
\_/

• Bernabei
  • Visitor
9 years 4 months ago #4220 by Bernabei
Replied by Bernabei on topic Coronene MARTINI parametrization
Dear Manuel,
Thank you very much for your input.
I had thought about this configuration, I just was not fully convinced about leaving the density hole in the middle.