normal Failed to run simulation

• lihie
  • lihie's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
More
12 years 4 months ago #875 by lihie
Failed to run simulation was created by lihie
Hello all,

I'm new in CG simulation, after running successfully em, the simulation crashes in pr. The system is a protein in a water box. The topology files were created using the martinize.py script. The system was properly minimized but now I'm, receiving the following error while running it on 8 nodes: "Domain decomposition has not been implemented for box vectors that have non-zero components in directions that do not use domain decomposition: ncells = 1 2 4, box vector[2] = -nan -nan -nan"
And the following error while running it on 1 node: "Number of grid cells is zero. Probably the system and box collapsed."

I tried to run a new simulation with a different protein, and it all went well, so I guess I'm doing it ok.

If someone can help me I'll be more then thankful,

Lihie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 4 months ago #876 by xavier
Replied by xavier on topic Failed to run simulation
This indicates that your gromacs is having troubles cutting your system into pieces that fit the 8 CPUS. This is a problem with dynamic load balancing ... you could try to use the -pd (for particle decomposition option) or use the -rdd 1.5 option. Note that the latter option might not solve the problem ... as a protein in water is a small system and it might not find a good decomposition of the system.

lihie wrote: Hello all,