normal How to characterize block copolymer (PEG polymer with branches)?

• ps2pspgood
  • ps2pspgood's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
More
2 years 2 months ago #9297 by ps2pspgood
Hi,

I am new to the CG model simulation. I was using all atom MD simulation with Desmond. I would like to study the process of endosome escape, but all atom simulation is too slow.
My model basically containing 2 part. The first one is the endosome lipid bilayer (I obtained from this reference: A molecular view on the escape of lipoplexed DNA from the endosome). The second part is my polymers. One is Polyethyleneimine and the other one is PEG block copolymer (It is shown in the following figure).

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

I would like to know how to parametrize it and generate topology file that can be used in martini force field.
Could you give me some guides and hints on how to walk through the process including choosing suitable beads and parameters?

Thank you very much for your great help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 2 months ago #9298 by fgrunewald
Hi,

That's an interesting problem. Luckily for you we have several bits and pieces already done. I would recommend you approach your project in Martini2 for which a good PEG model has already been parametrized ( pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/acs.jpcb.8b04760 ). There exists also several versions of Polyethyleneimine in Martini2, but you have to look in the literature for it. Once you have these components you just have to derive parameters for the branch attached to the PEG chain. For that you can follow the steps in this tutorial ( cgmartini.nl/index.php/tutorials-general...orials-polymers-gmx5 ).